Skip to main content

Chemistry: SciFinder Information

Introduction

SciFinder Scholar (Chemincal Abstracts) database has the most comprehensive collection of chemical substance and reaction information, and to more references than any other scientific search service.  You will need to register to use this database and access from off campus is a two step process as outlined below:

Login Information

On Campus Login

Follow this link, SciFinder Scholar Login or the link from the libraries database page and login with your ScIFinder ID and password.

Off Campus Login

From off campus, the link to sign-on to SciFinder Scholar included on the confirmation web page will not work.  You will need to follow this link, SciFinder Scholar Login, or the link from the libraries database page.

Users will also have to login twice – First you will need to login with your Netid and password to authenticate as a UIS user and then you will need to login with your personal SciFinder ID and password. 

User Registration -- Setting Up an Account

To register and set-up a password for accessing SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) follow the link, Registering for SciFinder.

You will receive a welcome screen, just hit next and you will receive a licensing agreement that you must accept before continuing.  This license stresses that you are using the database for academic research and scholarship and not for commercial purposes. 

 You then need to provide information about yourself, the required fields are name and UIS e-mail address.  You need to use your UIS e-mail address.

 You then select a username and password.  The password requirements are as follows: The password must include at least three (3) of the following:

  • Letters
  • Mixed upper and lowercase letters
  • Numbers
  • Non-alphanumeric characters (e.g., @,#,%,&,*)

 Then you need to set a security question in case you forget your password. 

 Next click the register button – you will receive a screen indicating that an e-mail will be sent to you with a link that you need to follow to complete your registration.  This email should arrive in less than 30 minutes, if you do not see one almost immediately check your spam folder.

 Open the e-mail entitled SciFinder Registration from registration@cas.org, follow the link and your registration will be complete. 

 

CAS/SciFinder Help