LibGuides: African American Studies: Find Articles & eBooks

Research Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to start your research, with dictionary definitions and encyclopedia entries from a variety of reliable reference sources to provide you with lots of background information.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A great place to start your research!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database is a great place to get started with your research! It is a multidisciplinary database containing full-text articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window The main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American (U.S., Canada, Mexico) history. Includes some links to full text. Indexes publications from 1964-present.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window An electronic collection of non-fiction, primary source writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering over 250 years of history.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window The JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection provides access to all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection. It includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, books and dissertations in literature and language.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from scholarly journals in history, the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of full-text reference books.
Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new window Full-text primary resources and supporting secondary resources tracing women's reform activities. It has books, images, documents, pamphlets, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies. Limited to the United States. Coverage from 1600-2000.

Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window This newspaper archive consists of historical newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window The full-text of the New York Times from its first issue in 1851. Images of the actual texts of articles and of the full page on which the articles appear are presented. Has a two year lag from the present.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides some full-text access to both national and international newspapers.

eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of ebooks.
Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window An online, fully searchable collection of full-text books in the Humanities.
Springer eBook & Journal Collection This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of full-text journals and books.
Wiley Ebook Library This link opens in a new window Full-text access to scholarly ebooks in science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences. It also includes major reference works and other online books from the publisher Wiley and Wley Scientific.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in history, the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.