Skip to main content

Theatre: Find plays

Contact Me

Sarah Sagmoen's picture
Sarah Sagmoen
Contact:
sarah.sagmoen@uis.edu
Website / Blog Page

Locating Plays at the Library

Locating Plays in the Library Catalog

You can search for plays by author (Chekhov, Anton Pavlovich), title (Cherry Orchard) or keywords (Chekhov and Cherry) using the Books and Media Search  

Locating Plays and Playwrights by Categories
You can also search in the Library Catalog by Subject.  Below are some examples. 

Monologue    
One-Act Plays
Farces
Comedy
Children's Plays
Drama--20th century
English drama
American drama--collected works
American drama--women authors
American drama--African American authors
African drama (English)--Women authors

 

 

GT 500-GT 2289

Costumes -- History/Description

 

PN 2131-PN 2145

Ancient Theatre History

GT 2290-GT 2341

Hair, cosmetics

PN 2152-PN 2160

Medieval theatre history

GT 1747

Masks

PN 2171-PN 2179

Renaissance theatre history

ND 2885

Scene painting

PN 2181-PN 2193

Modern theatre history

NK 8802-NK8998

Textile arts

PN 3035

The Jewish Theatre

PN 1600-PN 3307

Drama

PN 6110.5-PN6120

Play collections

PN 2068

Make-up

PR 621-PR 739

English literature-drama

PN 2091 .E4

Electric devices; stage lighting

PR 641-PR739

History of drama literature

PN 2091 .S8

Stage settings; scenery

PS 330-PS 352

American literature-drama

PN 2061-PN 2071

Art of acting

TS 545-TT850

Costumes -- Construction

PN 2085-PN 2091

The stage and accessories

   
       

 

 

   
 

Play Index (Reference Collection - Level 2: PN1655 .P55)
Lists plays published from 1949-1992.  Search by author, title of play or subject.

Index to Plays in Periodicals (Reference Collection - Level 2: PN1721 .K3911990)
Includes plays published between 1977 and 1987.

Ottemiller’s Index to Plays in Collections (Reference Collection - Level 2: PN1655 .O81976) 
An author and title index to plays appearing in collections published between 1900 and early 1975.

The Drama Scholars' Index to Plays and Filmscripts (Reference Collection: Level 2: PN1655 .S3)
A guide to plays and filmscripts in selected anthologies, series and periodicals.

Loading