LibGuides: Sociology/Anthropology: Find Books

Locating Books

Background Resources
Finding Books by Subject

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window This is a great place to start your research, with dictionary definitions and encyclopedia entries from a variety of reliable reference sources to provide you with lots of background information.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Includes encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A great place to start your research!

21st Century Sociology
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia This full-text encyclopedia explores the many peoples of early European civilizations. Useful resource for topic development.
Countries and their Cultures Focuses on the cultures of countries around the world, what is and what is not commonly shared culturally by the people who live in a country.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology Provides coverage of the four subfields of Anthropology (cultural, physical/biological, linguistics and archeology). Search by topic or browse by subject, "all entries" or thematic categories.
Encyclopedia of Community Entries explore types of community (intentional communities, ethnic communities, and community colleges, for example), famous communities, issues and trends in community building, institutions that influence and sustain communities, and a wide variety of concepts and theories.
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior Explores the interaction of behavioral, psychological, emotional, social, cultural, and biological factors with physical health outcomes, such as heart disease, cancer, arthritis, diabetes, and chronic pain
Encyclopedia of Social Theory Contains entries on cutting-edge topics, such as globalization, consumption, complexity theory, and actor network theory, as well as state-of-the-art interpretations of long-established theories
Handbook of Death & Dying Multidisciplinary and cross-cultural; it addresses death-related behavior within a number of different religious contexts and also examines such behavior in different countries and cultures. Also examines death-related topics in historical perspective, such as the history of the American cemetery, historical changes in the meaning of death in the Western world, and the history of suicide.
Penguin Dictionary of Sociology
Women's Lives around the World: A Global Encyclopedia This encyclopedia examines the lives of women around the world, with coverage that includes the education of girls and teens; the key roles women play in their families, careers, religions, and cultures; how issues for women intersect with colonialism, transnationalism, feminism, and established norms of power and control.
Encyclopedia of Social & Cultural Anthropology
International Encyclopedia of Social & Cultural Anthropology

Archaeology in Practice by Jane Balme (Editor); Alistair Paterson (Editor) Archaeology in Practice: A Student Guide to Archaeological Analyses offers students in archaeology laboratory courses a detailed and invaluable how-to manual of archaeological methods and provides insight into the breadth of modern archaeology. Written by specialists of material analyses, whose expertise represents a broad geographic range Includes numerous examples of applications of archaeological techniques Organized by material types, such as animal bones, ceramics, stone artifacts, and documentary sources, or by themes, such as dating, ethics, and report writing Written accessibly and amply referenced to provide readers with a guide to further resources on techniques and their applications Enlivened by a range of boxed case studies throughout the main text
ISBN: 9781405148863
Publication Date: 2009-02-09

Locating relevant books in the online catalog with be more effective if you can refine your topic area. The primary call number ranges for Sociology/Anthropology are:

CC: Archeology
GN: Cultural Anthropology
GR: Folklore
GT: Manners and Customs
HM: Sociology
HN: Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.
HQ: The family. Marriage. Women
HS: Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.,
HT: Communities, Classes, Races
HX: Socialism. Communism. Anarchism