LibGuides: Communication Research Guide: Find Sources

Find Sources

Scholarly articles, also called academic articles, can be found using databases and cover a wide range of topics and can either be original research or analysis of an issue or topic.

Features of Scholarly Articles

Written by scholars or experts in the field
Often peer-reviewed
Generally present in-depth analysis or summaries of a topic
Provides citations for all sources used

Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

Communication & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Covers journals in communication, mass media and related fields. Includes full-text.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection provides access to all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection. It includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.

A newspaper is a regularly published collection of articles that intend to inform an audience of current events of interest to a broad readership. Most newspapers are published daily, but some are published weekly.

Features of News Sources

Authored by journalists and columnists
Written in plain language
Includes quotes from affected parties and bystanders
Very short in length

Finding Newspapers

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to local, regional, national and international newspapers.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Searches the major US newspapers -- Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides some full-text access to both national and international newspapers, and selective full text for U.S. newspapers. Some examples of newspapers included are The New York Times, The Boston Globe, The Washington Post, and USA Today

You can search the library website for books and other materials and request them for pick up at the library.

UIS Library is also a member of I-Share, which means our students can access materials available at other Illinois colleges and universities. Watch this short video to learn more about how to search and request materials.

Library Website
From the library homepage you can search the library catalog for books.
How long can I check out items?
See the loan periods for various items depending on your status.

More Databases

A-Z Databases
Complete list of available databases.

Communication Research Guide