LibGuides: Computer Science Research Guide: Find Sources

Find Sources

Written by scholars or experts in the field. Scholarly articles, also called academic articles, can be found using databases and cover a wide range of topics and can either be original research or analysis of an issue or topic.

Features of Scholarly Sources

Usually take the form of books or journal articles.
Often peer-reviewed.
Generally, present in-depth analysis or summaries of a topic.

Finding Scholarly Sources: Computer Science

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to every full-text journal article, newsletters, conference proceedings, tables of contents, abstracts, and reviews published by the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) and bibliograhic citations from major publishers in computing.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, product design and marketing, and electronics. Provides some full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings. Browsable by books & e-books, conference publications, education and learning, journals and magazines and by topic. This database provides full text content until 2020 and Open Access full text articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is a great place to get started with your research! It is a multidisciplinary database containing full-text articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.

You can search the library website for books and other materials and request them for pick up at the library. UIS Library is also a member of I-Share, which means our students can access materials available at other Illinois colleges and universities. Watch this short video to learn more about how to search and request materials.

Library Website
From the library homepage you can search the library catalog for books.
How long can I check out items?
See the loan periods for various items depending on your status.

Additional Databases of interest to computer Science

MIT Press and IEEE eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic boops on various computer science topics from MIT and IEEE press
IEEE Cyber Security Program This link opens in a new window
This course series provides a comprehensive set of 11 educational course modules on trending topics. These courses are ideal for technical professionals at organizations working in cyber security-based technologies looking to enhance their knowledge.
IEEE Ethical Hacking Program This link opens in a new window
This program comprises eight self-paced, online courses designed to assist businesses understand the weak points in their cyber security. It is ideal for technical professionals across all industries who support their company's IT departments and require up-to-date information on this threat.
MathSciNet Mathematical Reviews This link opens in a new window
Major mathematics database for information on the mathematical underpinning of computer science.
MathSciNet can also be accessed via EBSCOhost.

arXiv.org
arXiv which is a curated digital open access research-sharing platform serving as an electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. arXiv.org now hosts nearly two million scholarly articles in eight subject areas, physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is partially funded by the National Science Foundation maintained and operated by Cornell Tech.
CiteSeerX
CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerx aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.

Linkedin Learning (Restricted to UIS) This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) is an online on-demand library of instructional videos covering the latest business, technology and creative skills. It provides personalized course recommendations and is designed to help you achieve your full potential by enhancing your skills to achieve your personal and professional goals. The video courses are taught by industry experts and all the courses on LinkedIn fall into four categories: Business, Creative, Technology and Certifications.
Gartner Inc. (Restricted to UIS) This link opens in a new window
Gartner, Inc is a technological research and consulting firm that conducts research on technology and shares this research through its website and virtual conferences. Provides in depth analysis of IT trends and topics. Restricted to UIS users, requires NetID to login
Limited to on campus users.

Code

SourceForge
SourceForge is an Open Source community resource dedicated to helping open source projects be as successful as possible. We thrive on community collaboration to help us create a premiere resource for open source software development and distribution.
GitHub
GitHub is a web-based Git repository hosting service. It offers all of the distributed revision control and source code management (SCM) functionality of Git as well as adding its own features

Websites

Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
This is a dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, and related definitions. Algorithms include common functions, such as Ackermann's function. Problems include traveling salesman and Byzantine generals. Some entries have links to implementations and more information.
HCI Bibliography : Human-Computer Interaction Resources
Search over 126,000 publications on Human-Computer Interaction

More Databases

A-Z Databases
Complete list of available databases.