LibGuides: Environmental Studies Research Guide: Find Sources

Find Sources

Written by scholars or experts in the field. Scholarly articles, also called academic articles, can be found using databases and cover a wide range of topics and can either be original research or analysis of an issue or topic.

Features of Scholarly Sources

Usually take the form of books or journal articles.
Often peer-reviewed.
Generally, present in-depth analysis or summaries of a topic.

Finding Scholarly Sources: Environmental Studies

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is a great place to get started with your research! It is a multidisciplinary database containing full-text articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary database provides well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. The database provides indexing and abstracts and includes some Open Access full text.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes science, medical, social science and business full-text journals. Also includes two full-text encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics and the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.
SciFinder -n (Restricted to UIS) This link opens in a new window
"SciFinder is the online equivalent to the Chemical Abstracts Database. SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Note: This database requires a current Netid and password for access. Before accessing SciFinder the first time an additional personal ID and password needs to be created from on campus." see More for the registration link or the Chemistry LibGuide
This database requires a current Netid and password for access. Before accessing SciFinder the first time an additional personal ID and password needs to be created from on campus, use the "SciFinder Registration" link to create your account.

You can search the library website for books and other materials and request them for pick up at the library. UIS Library is also a member of I-Share, which means our students can access materials available at other Illinois colleges and universities. Watch this short video to learn more about how to search and request materials.

Library Website
From the library homepage you can search the library catalog for books.
How long can I check out items?
See the loan periods for various items depending on your status.

Maps and GIS Data Sources

GIS Data

EPA Geospatial Data Access Project
The EPA Geospatial Data Access Project provides a downloadable files of these facilities or sites in the following formats; extensible markup language (XML) file, keyhole markup language (KML) file, ESRI Shapefile and ESRI Feature Class. Within the file is key facility information, along with associated environmental interests for use in mapping and reporting applications.
ERSI Data & Maps
This group provides access to layers from Esri Data & Maps that you can download for use with your ArcGIS software.
Geospatial Data Gateway - Status Maps
Status maps indicate the location of data available for each map layer in the Geospatial Data Gateway. Because new data is added regularly, the status maps will continually be updated. Before you order, please review what map layers are available for a location in which you have interest.
HUD USPS Zip Code Crosswalk Files
One of the many challenges that social science researchers and practitioners face is the difficulty of relating United States Postal Service (USPS) ZIP codes to Census Bureau geographies. There are valuable data available only at the ZIP code level that, when combined with demographic data tabulated at various Census geography levels, could open up new avenues of exploration

Maps

US Census Bureau - Maps
Maps from the US Census Bureau
US Census Interactive Maps
Interactive mapping tools from across the Census Bureau.
Geography Program - US Census Bureau
Geography is central to the work of the Census Bureau, providing the framework for survey design, sample selection, data collection, tabulation, and dissemination. Geography provides meaning and context to statistical data.
CensusScope
CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.
USGS Topographic Maps
From the USGS National Geospatial Program. US Topo is the current topographic map series. These are modeled on the legacy 7.5-minute maps, but are mass-produced from GIS databases and published as digital documents. The Historical Topographic Map Collection (HTMC) is a set of scanned images of USGS topographic quadrangle maps originally published as paper documents in the period 1884-2006.
EPA EnviroAtlas
EnviroAtlas provides interactive resources that allow users to discover, analyze, and download data, maps, and other information. EnviroAtlas can be used to inform decision-making at multiple scales. Our resources are organized around the benefits people receive from nature or "ecosystem services".
CDC Public Health Maps
This site is designed for public health managers, community leaders, GIS users, epidemiologists and other people interested in using GIS to prevent heart disease, stroke and other chronic diseases. The intent is to provide a forum for sharing examples, ideas and techniques for using GIS to document geographic disparities, inform policy and program development and build partnerships.
Library of Congress (American Memory) Map Collections
A collection of maps dating back to 1100 and continuing to the present.

Websites

OECD
The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

Environmental Studies overlaps with many areas and other subject-specific databases may need to be consulted depending on the topic studied.

Additional Subject Specific Databases

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers biology, environment science, biochemistry, botany, microbiology, zoology, and related topics of interest to environmental studies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Useful for medicine, medical, and health-related topics
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Agricultural database useful for such topics as pesticides, form chemical, and related topics.

Multidisciplinary Research Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. It is a comprehensive resource to support research in the scientific, technical, medical areas.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searching Google Scholar using this link allows current UIS students, faculty, and staff to access full text of subscription required sources as well as information freely available online.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the platform and the world's most trusted citation indexes for scientific and scholarly research containing Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

More Databases

A-Z Databases
Complete list of available databases.