Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
H. Stephen McMinn
, Clinical Lab Science
, Computer Science
, Environmental Studies
, Mathematical Sciences
, Public Health
, Scholarly Communications
This guide covers the resources covering allied health and medical resources available to the faculty, staff, and students of the University of Illinois Springfield. Students in the College of Nursing have access to many more specialized resources specific to the nursing program. This guide can be found at College of Nursing-Springfield LibGuide
The Brookens Library will also serve as a resource for ordering and picking up Inter Library Loan items and for non-digital print or media items placed on course reserves. I-Share items can be delivered or returned to any I-Share Library, so this services will also be an important resource for students within this program on the Springfield campus.
This guide is designed to highlight the resources for students of the University of Illinois Springfield campus in the areas of allied health and medicine including the limited number of resources available for students in both programs.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. This resource also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, and more.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Full-text of hundreds of health periodicals, pamphlets, and selected health reference books. Topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Full-text of scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains some linked full-text.
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
AHFS Consumer Medication Information
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers
Multidisciplinary Science Databases
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. It is a comprehensive resource to support research in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the platform and the world's most trusted citation indexes for scientific and scholarly research containing Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI). It contains over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.
Use this link to Google Scholar to be recognized as a University of Illinois Springfield user and to see full text items licensed for UIS users . If you experience issues while trying to use google scholar from this link, please consult this FAQ entry.