Allied Health, Nursing, and Medical Research Guide

A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content covering all areas of health and wellness. Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Also includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise, and clinically relevant drug information. The accompanying ebook reference collection covers a broad range of general health topics, including diseases such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health.

Full-text of scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health) covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Full-text of hundreds of health periodicals, pamphlets, and selected health reference books focused on consumer health information. Provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine. Also provides access to full text, consumer health magazines. Includes the Merriam-Webster's medical desk dictionary.

PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, a database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It provides citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences from biomedical literature includes life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text Open Access content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Provides authoritative life science, biomedical, and medical information. Subjects covered include all aspects of clinical medicine (diseases and disorders, diagnostic and therapeutic techniques and equipment), basic biomedical sciences (anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, etc.), the health care system (facilities, manpower, services, administration), dentistry, nursing, and clinical psychology., nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Useful for finding information on diagnosis, etiology, therapy, and prevention of diseases and disorders; on research in basic science fields relating to medicine; and on biomedical technology and its applications.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. It is a comprehensive resource to support research in the scientific, technical, medical areas.

Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the platform and the world's most trusted citation indexes for scientific and scholarly research containing Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Searching Google Scholar using this link allows current UIS students, faculty, and staff to access full text of subscription required sources as well as information freely available online.