Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Media at Brookens: Alexander Street Press

This guide is to provide information on Kanopy and other streaming media content available through the Brookens Library.

Introduction

ProQuest's Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, and streaming media for learning and research.  The Brookens Library subscribes to the subject based collections of thousands of hours of videos and other primary research listed below.
 

Alexander Street Press

Title Description
 
This database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
A collection of streaming videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.  Videos are presented from multiple perspectives and include counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, lectures, and synchronized, searchable transcripts.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video is a collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety.
Current Affairs in Video is a unique streaming video resource featuring a collection of issue-based documentaries from around the world. Covering Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights, the films focus on the key issues and events of recent global history.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
Sound files of traditional music from around the world, plus notes, images, video, and lesson plans. Search by culture, genre, instrument, year, etc.
Contains streaming video performances of major plays along with film documentaries. Includes important actors, directors and playwrights. 
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.