LibGuides: BUS 537: Survey of U.S. Healthcare System: Industry Information

Industry Information

Industry info will give you an overview and in-depth understanding of a particular industry. Oftentimes you will be able to get specific industry reports or information within a specific geography as well, such as the dog food industry in Germany.

However, industry research is rarely straightforward, so keep an open mind and follow these tips.

Search tips:

Try related terms for keyword searches, like "apparel" vs. "clothing." Databases may have different terms for the same or similar industry.
Try multiple databases. Each covers different industries, with some overlap.
Use trade associations. Finding trade associations can be a big help as they often produce and publish helpful reports and data.

Industry Reports

Industry reports, available in databases, print resources, and websites, contain valuable analysis of an industry's operating conditions, driving forces, competitive landscapes, and more.

Be aware that many do not cover smaller niche industries and always check the date to see how current the information is.

Supplement these reports with information found in newspapers and trade publications.

Accompanying image is from the Business Source Premier database.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly articles, business news and reports. Provides access to company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Search Tip: Type in your industry (i.e. retail) in the first search box and "industry profile" in the second. Find the most current Marketline Industry Profile for your country.

Mergent This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international company financials for public and private companies. Users can compare companies and build custom reports. Updated weekly.

Search Tip: Select the Industry Analysis tab from the top of the page. Then, select the Reports tab to view industry reports.

Industry Outlooks (Deloitte)
Deloitte offers industry prediction reports for state government, banking and securities, commercial real estate, energy and resources, insurance, payments, process and industrial products, renewable energy, retail and talent strategies industries.
Bain & Company
Bain Insights, a consulting firm, dig deep into the complex challenges that healthcare companies—including hospitals, insurers and medtech firms—face in patient care.
L.E.K.
L.E.K.’s HealthCare Insights Center. assembled their latest thinking on some of the most critical issues affecting the healthcare industry
U.S. Bureau of Labor Industries at a Glance
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor, includes reports on over 100 industries, organized by NAICS code or industry name, focusing on employment, labor, and trends.