LibGuides: CINRC: Funding

UIS Resources

Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
The Foundation Center's databases offer a wealth of information and offers the following search-by capabilities: Grantmakers, Companies, Grants, and 990s.

Note: Off-campus users may need to connect via campus VPN
Grant Forward (Restricted to UIS) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on funding resources for research. Accessible only to University of Illinois students, staff & faculty. For full access, create an account by clicking on Sign Up and using your UIS email to connect to our institutional account.
For full access, create an account by clicking on Sign Up and using your UIS email to connect to our institutional account.

Grant Seeking & Grant Management at UIS
Provides information on funding resources and grants management. UIS faculty and staff only.

Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to regional, national, and international, business, financing, banking & industry publications. The Company Profiles section of the database contains Datamonitor reports for major U.S. and international companies.

Foundation Maps
Foundation Maps is an interactive mapping tool designed to provide a visual portrayal of philanthropic giving around the world. Please contact a librarian for information on how to access the database's contents: call 217-206-6605 or email psale2@uis.edu.

Community Foundation for the Land of Lincoln
The CFLL maintains several grant funds and programs dedicated to supporting a variety community endeavors including: seniors, women, youth, nonprofit professional development, historic preservation in Springfield, recreation for people with disabilities, and a variety of charitable areas. Grant deadlines and applications are available through this link.
United Way of Central Illinois Community Fund
The United Way invests in local health and human service programs. Funding decisions are made by volunteers from the community. All funded programs are aligned with United Way's dual strategy of improving lives by meeting and individuals needs; and providing educational tools that promote long-term health and well being.

To support this dual strategy, United Way has two funding areas for programs, Essential Services and Lifelong Learning Initiative.

Forefront
A statewide membership association for Illinois nonprofits, philanthropy, public agencies, advisors, and our allies. They provide resources, education, advocacy, thought leadership, and project management to attract investment to the sector, develop top talent, improve systems and policies, and build organizational capacity.

Grants.gov
The White House Office of Management and Budget has mandated that all 26 Federal agencies post their competititve grant opportunities here to facilitate ease in locating grants as well as downloading and submitting applications. Managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the aim of this site is to eventually become the central repository for federal grant information.
U.S. Department of Education Funding
Select Grants and Contracts. This is a site that provides information on grants and other programs at the department including applications, regulations for administering grant programs, and information for new grant-seekers.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and non-financial assistance listings administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government

The following resources are only accessible on campus or off site with a UIS NetID and password.

How to Get Grant Money in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Folsom, Raphael Brewster. How to Get Grant Money in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Yale University Press, 2019.