Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives/IRAD

Archives, Special Collections, & IRAD Information

Archives

The University Archives contributes to the public service and teaching functions of the University of Illinois Springfield by collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary research materials.

 

Temporary Closure: The UIS Archives and IRAD are currently unstaffed. We are in the process of hiring a new archivist and training Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) interns and expect to have the archives staffed in August. Due to the staff shortage, our resources are extremely limited at this time and we are largely unable to book appointments. Feel free to call (217) 206-6520 or email archives@uis.libanswers.com with any questions about the archives or IRAD. A member of our staff will get back to you as soon as possible, and help you as best they can until staff with the necessary knowledge and training to research your request are in place. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience and are working as quickly as we can to return to normal operation.

Search Archives

Featured Collections

Grayton Photo Collection

From the Archives

Grayton Mansion Photograph Collection

Springer Collection

From the Archives

Springer Historical Financial Documents Collection

Local government

From the Archives

Local Government Records: Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Holiday cards

From the Archives

Holiday Cards from the Eva M. Humphrey Postcard Collection 1906-1964

Handy collection

From the Archives

Handy Writer's Colony Collection, 1930-1964