Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives/IRAD

Archives, Special Collections, & IRAD Information

Hours

By Appointment Only.

Contact

Brookens Library: Room 144 University of Illinois Springfield
One University Plaza | Springfield, Illinois 62703
217-206-6520 archives@uis.libanswers.com

Archives

The University Archives contributes to the public service and teaching functions of the University of Illinois Springfield by collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary research materials.

The UIS Archives and Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) are currently open, but we are in the process of hiring a new archivist and IRAD interns so our resources are limited at this time. We are largely unable to book appointments, but you can call (217) 206-6520, (217) 206-6597, or email archives@uis.libanswers.com with any questions about the archives or IRAD. Due to Secretary of State rules, IRAD interns cannot return email or voice message requests for records or information. They must receive a mailed request, a phone call, or a voicemail containing your name, mailing address, and the criteria for your record search in order to help you. If you reach an intern via a method other than telephone, they will reach back out to you via mail. We hope to have a new IRAD intern on site in early January 2023, but it may take a bit longer. Our mailing address is: UIS Archives/ IRAD One University Plaza Springfield, Illinois 62703 A member of our staff will get back to you as soon as possible, and help you as best they can. We apologize for the inconvenience and are working as quickly as we can to return to normal operation.

Search Archives

Featured Collections

Grayton Photo Collection

From the Archives

Grayton Mansion Photograph Collection

Springer Collection

From the Archives

Springer Historical Financial Documents Collection

Local government

From the Archives

Local Government Records: Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Holiday cards

From the Archives

Holiday Cards from the Eva M. Humphrey Postcard Collection 1906-1964

Handy collection

From the Archives

Handy Writer's Colony Collection, 1930-1964