LibGuides: Education: Find Sources

Find Sources

Written by scholars or experts in the field. Scholarly articles, also called academic articles, can be found using databases and cover a wide range of topics and can either be original research or analysis of an issue or topic.

Features of Scholarly Sources

Usually take the form of books or journal articles.
Often peer-reviewed.
Generally, present in-depth analysis or summaries of a topic.

Finding Scholarly Sources:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is a great place to get started with your research! It is a multidisciplinary database containing full-text articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the largest education database in the world, contains citations and full-text for journal articles, books, conference papers, and more.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection provides access to all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection. It includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text sources especially for educators, librarians and education students.
Mometrix eLibrary
Mometrix provides study materials and unofficial test preparation products for various examinations. The database includes over 4,500 study guides, practice tests, and flashcard titles, for 1,500+ different exams. The eLibrary includes practice exams and tests for teacher certification (including the ILTS - Illinois Licensure Testing Service), college admission (ACT), construction (e.g. Six Sigma certification), counseling, English language, finance, graduate/professional school admissions (GRE, LSAT, MCAT), insurance, K-12 state standards, law/legal, nursing, nutrition, medical, personal fitness, public service, real estate, and social work.

This video is a brief introduction to the scholarly and popular sources you will come across while researching. What are they and how do you know what to use for your assignment?

You can search the library website for books and other materials and request them for pick up at the library. UIS Library is also a member of I-Share, which means our students can access materials available at other Illinois colleges and universities. Watch this short video to learn more about how to search and request materials.

Library Website
From the library homepage you can search the library catalog for books.
How long can I check out items?
See the loan periods for various items depending on your status.

Background Research Sources

Education Encyclopedias from SAGE Knowledge
These eBook Encyclopedias are great for conducting background research in the field of education.
Education Handbooks from Springer
These eBook Handbooks are a great place to start researcher. You can either browse through the entries or search within an individual book.

eBooks

eBooks from Springer
This collection provides full-text and is available to view on your apple or android device.
eBooks from EBSCO eBook Collection
This collection of education eBooks provides full-text and offers the ability to search within the book. These ebooks can be viewed on a desktop.
eBooks from CARLI Collection
This collection of Counseling eBooks provides full-text and offers the ability to search the text. This collection is available to view on your desktop.

Statistics & Data

NCES: National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Institute of Education Sciences
The IES is the research branch of the Dept. of Education. This site provides both data and tools.
National Association of Educational Progress (NAEP)
The NAEP provides assessment on student achievement and learning in various subjects which is released in a report called The Nation's Report Card.