LibGuides: Music: Find Music & Media

Music & Streaming Media Sources

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window The world’s premier online music encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. It includes the content of Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music as well as information from other specialized music databases.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window Produced in partnership with the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of various legendary recording labels, this unique database includes music from around the world along with notes, images, video and lesson plans. Search by culture, genre, instrument, year, etc.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window This unique audio collection brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, providing a path of study of music in its cultural context. Heay focus on music obtained from field expeditions during the 1960s thru 1980s.

EVIA Digital Archive Project The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor of the Andrew W. Mellong Foundation, Indiana University & the University of Michigan. The Project has been developed through the joint efforts of ethnographic scholars, archivists, librarians, technologists, and legal experts.

Sibley Music Library, Rochester University Music Scores and books in the public domain and housed in the Sibley Music Library collection at Rochester University.
VARIATIONS Prototype: Online Musical Scores
Mutopia Project Offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download, based on editions in the public domain.
ChoralWIKI The Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL) resource hosts public-domain scores of more than 22,200 choral and vocal works by 2,600-plus composers. Users may search by composer and title, conduct searches to select specific score categories, including genres, voicing, and accompaniment. Finally, there is a section for church musicians, which provides links to liturgically appropriate scores.
Music in World Cultures This text was developed for an ethnography course at University of Arkansas. It provides a small sampling of various musical styles and traditions that might be found, though the skills developed in this course can be applied to any type of music.
more...less...
Authored by Justin R. Hunter and Matthew Mihalka, University of Arkansas. Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0.International License.

Ethnographic Video Online Volume 2 This link opens in a new window A core resource for anthropology at all levels, this collection contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window Provides access to streaming video for theater education. Includes filmed stage performances, master classes, documentaries, and training material.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window A streaming video collection covering a broad variety of subjects including documentaries, films, and more.

Bureau of American Ethnology Publications Online Several volumes dedicated to the music of specific American Indian tribes. Sheet music also tucked inside other volumes focusing on American Indians.