LibGuides: Women and Gender Studies: Background Information

Background Information

Consider these sources as a good beginning place for your research. They are very useful in obtaining quality, foundational information for topics pertaining to Women & Gender Studies.. Please feel free to contact Pamela M. Salela, Librarian to WGS for a private or group consultation to assist you in more thorough and detailed research assistance.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window This is a great place to start your research, with dictionary definitions and encyclopedia entries from a variety of reliable reference sources to provide you with lots of background information.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Includes encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A great place to start your research!
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window

ScienceDirect Reference Collection
Gender Inequality Gender Inequality: A Reference Handbook discusses the role women have played throughout human history and play in the modern day, including both advances that have been made in the fight for equality and problems remaining to be solved. Gender Inequality: A Reference Handbook is divided into two parts. Chapters One and Two provide a historical background to the topic and a review of current issues and problems. The remaining chapters aid readers in continuing their own research on the topic, through an extended annotated bibliography, chronology, glossary, noteworthy individuals and organizations in the field, and important data and documents. This book covers the topic of gender inequality from the earliest pages of human history to the present day. It differs from other works in the field primarily because of the variety of resources provided, such as further reading, perspective essays on the topic, a historical timeline, and useful terms in the field. It is intended for readers of high school through the community college level, along with adult readers who may be interested in the topic. Provides readers with a history of the effects of patriarchy on women, one of the longest lasting and most consequential debates in human history Summarizes the status of gender inequality in the modern world, with regard to its presence and effects in a variety of aspects of human life Supplies abundant resources for further research on the topic by readers of all ages Rounds out the author's expertise through perspective essays, giving readers a diversity of viewpoints on the topic
Women's Lives around the World: A Global Encyclopedia This encyclopedia examines the lives of women around the world, with coverage that includes the education of girls and teens; the key roles women play in their families, careers, religions, and cultures; how issues for women intersect with colonialism, transnationalism, feminism, and established norms of power and control.
A Companion to Gender Studies
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories