LibGuides: Human Development Counseling: Find Sources

Find Sources

Written by scholars or experts in the field. Scholarly articles, also called academic articles, can be found using databases and cover a wide range of topics and can either be original research or analysis of an issue or topic.

Features of Scholarly Sources

Usually take the form of books or journal articles.
Often peer-reviewed.
Generally, present in-depth analysis or summaries of a topic.

Finding Scholarly Sources:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is a great place to get started with your research! It is a multidisciplinary database containing full-text articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection provides access to all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection. It includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of psychology as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Some linked full-text is available.

To find a test instrument, you may need to search several places to find the test you are looking for. Not all tests are freely available, but here are some places you can begin your search:

Start with PsycTESTS to search for the actual copy of the testing instrument. Some tests include only the scale or inventory while others include the manual. Click PDF Full Text to access it.
If you cannot find anything in PsycTESTS, try searching on Google for the test. Sometimes, the publisher's website will include the test instrument.
Search one of the library databases listed under the "Articles" tab like PsycINFO. Search for your test and find articles that focus on test development.
Try looking for books in the library catalog that may help you find information about a specific test or about specific tests within a given subject area. Example search terms: marriage and family assessment, mental clinical assessment, or bereavement assessment.

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development. Records also discuss reliability and validity of the tool. Some records include full-text of the test.

Counseling and Therapy in Video, Vol. 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos are presented from multiple perspectives and include counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, lectures, and synchronized, searchable transcripts.
Psychotherapy.net Video Library This link opens in a new window
Training videos for students and practitioners in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment.

This video is a brief introduction to the scholarly and popular sources you will come across while researching. What are they and how do you know what to use for your assignment?

You can search the library website for books and other materials and request them for pick up at the library. UIS Library is also a member of I-Share, which means our students can access materials available at other Illinois colleges and universities. Watch this short video to learn more about how to search and request materials.

Library Website
From the library homepage you can search the library catalog for books.
How long can I check out items?
See the loan periods for various items depending on your status.

More Databases

A-Z Databases
Complete list of available databases.