LibGuides: PSY 324: Exceptional Child: Main

Welcome!

This is a course guide for PSY 324. It collects resources specific to the psychology of exceptional children. Additional resources can be found on the main Psychology Research Guide.

Psychology Research Guide

Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of psychology as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Some linked full-text is available.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the largest education database in the world, contains citations and full-text for journal articles, books, conference papers, and more.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text sources especially for educators, librarians and education students.

Individual Journals

These are individual journal titles that may of use to you for this course. If you have any difficulties accessing these titles or need additional assistance, please contact the Psychology Librarian.

British Journal of Special Education Covers the whole range of learning difficulties relating to children in mainstream and special schools.
Child Development Articles of interdisciplinary empirical research, theoretical articles and reviews that have theoretical implications for child developmental research selected through blind review.
Exceptional Children Original research on the education and development of exceptional infants, toddlers, children and youth and articles on professional issues of concern to special educators made on the basis of blind peer review.
Focus on Exceptional Children Feature articles and detailed profiles of exceptional children published as a service to teachers, special educators, curriculum specialists, administrators and those concerned with the special education of exceptional children.
International Journal of Disability, Development & Education Provides research & review articles concerned with all aspects of education, human development, special education & rehabilitation.
Intervention in School & Clinic Interdisciplinary journal directed to those who deal with the day-to-day aspects of special and remedial education.
Journal of Early Intervention Features current research, exemplary practices, family involvement, personnel preparation, collaborative efforts, legislation, and technology for professionals.
Journal of School Psychology Publishes original empirical articles and critical reviews of the literature on research and practices relevant to psychological and behavioral processes in school settings.
Journal of Special Education A multidisciplinary publication presenting primary research and scholarly reviews related to special education.
Journal of Special Education Technology Provides research articles and scholarly reviews on special education for individuals with mild to severe disabilities.
Remedial and Special Education Offers interdisciplinary articles that bridge the gap between theory and practice involving the education of individuals for whom typical instruction is not effective.
Teacher Education and Special Education: The Journal of the Teacher Education Division of the Council for Exceptional Children Dedicated to the preparation and professional development of teachers, scholars, leaders, and other support personnel who serve children, youth, and adults with disabilities and their families.
Teaching Exceptional Children Features articles dealing with practical methods and materials for classroom use aimed at teachers of children with disabilities and children who are gifted; an official journal of the Council for Exceptional Children.
Topics in Early Childhood Special Education Articles, review articles, commentary and book reviews that focus on different aspects of early childhood special education. Topics include staff development, technical assistance, intervention programs, research and practice in early intervention.