Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty FAQ

Borrowing and Requesting Materials

How long can I check out items from the Library?

Can I put a hold on a book held by Brookens?

What is a proxy patron?

  • Current faculty can designate up to three(3) students to serve as proxies to pick up and check out library materials for them. Fill out the Proxy Patron Request Form to ask for this service.

Access to Other Libraries

Suggest a Purchase

Providing materials to support the educational mission of the university is one of the library's key roles. Any and all types of materials may be requested for purchase with the exception of course textbooks. Purchases will be considered based on availability, cost, and need.  

If you need a specific book, video, or another item to support your research or teaching goals, send your request or recommendations to your Library Liaison or use this form.

General Collection Development Guidelines

Collection development is a collaborative effort between faculty librarians and campus faculty, staff, and students to ensure that the educational and research needs of the university can be satisfied with the library resources.  This collaboration requires frequent communication between those developing the curriculum and the librarians charged with managing the library collections.

There are some general guidelines that have been developed over time, such as:

  • Items required for current courses are given the highest priority and should be requested using the Course Reserve Form.
  • Faculty requests are prioritized and purchased whenever possible.
  • Student requests are also prioritized and purchased when they align with the purpose of the collection that they are recommended to join, i.e. popular or academic.
  • The Library does not purchase current textbooks for reserves or the general collection, although some textbooks may be purchased for the collection to provide alternative views or approaches to subjects taught.
  • New journal subscriptions need to be offset with cancellations of other journal subscriptions of lessor priority.  Journals are purchased in their electronic format whenever possible.
  • Books authored by faculty are acquired for both the general or electronic book collection and a second copy is acquired for University Archives and Special Collections. 
  • The library may choose to pay for access to some materials rather than acquire materials outright given the nature of the item, its expected use, and availability. 
  • Academic E-Books are generally purchased as a single user or using the new non-linear models. 
  • De-accession of existing materials – the library attempts to consult with faculty when possible regarding the removal of outdated or little used resources, but the ultimate decision regarding the removal of these materials remain with the library.
  • The general policy on gift materials is that the library accepts gifts of most materials types, with the exception of journals and magazines, and the library reserves the right to keep or dispose of these materials as they see fit. 
  • The library does not purchase multiple copies of monographs or academic works, but will often purchase multiple formats of items in the popular collections. 

These are general guidelines and librarians have broad discretion in meeting the collection needs of the faculty, staff, and students.