Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DistantCousin is a free online archive of genealogy records and
scanned images of historical documents from a wide variety of sources,
such as newspaper obituaries, city directories, census records, ship
lists, school yearbooks, military records, and more. In all there are
more than 6 million genealogy records from over 1,500 sources online.
Footnote has made available, through their partnership with the
National Archives, original source documents that include information
about an individual's birth, immigration history, marriage, occupation,
death, and other genealogical research data. Requires paid
GenealogyBank is a subscription-based online genealogical resource from NewsBank,
inc. Features a collection of primary material useful for genealogical
research, including modern obituaries, over 2,400 historical
newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, government documents
Illinois Genealogy Resources
- Genealogy in the Illinois State Archives
Links to the Illinois State Archives’ resources for genealogical
research, including information on the Archives’ many online databases
(Public Domain land sales, statewide marriage index, statewide death
index, military records, etc.)
- Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD)
Depositories of county and other local government records useful
for research in Illinois genealogy and history. The seven depositories
are located at state universities around the state of Illinois, and
include records of birth, marriages, and deaths, a variety of court
records, naturalization records, deed and tax records, and many others
dating from the Territorial Period onward.
- ILGenWeb Project
Collected links to genealogical resources in Illinois, organized by county.
- Illinois Vital Records
The Illinois Department of Public Health’s Office of Vital Records
preserves the state's records on births, deaths, marriages and
divorces. Since birth and death records first began to be collected by
the Department in 1916, 27 million have been placed on file, including
some delayed records dating back to the mid 1800s. These records are
not available online; copies may be ordered from the Office of Vital
Records for a fee.
National Archives: Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians
A guide to the National Archives’ vast holdings of U.S. Federal
records useful for genealogical research. While the majority of these
records are not available online, some useful collections are,
including selected military records, prisoner of war records, records
related to WWII Japanese internment and Chinese exclusion, fugitive
slave records, and Native American enrollments.