Archives.gov
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), which became an independent federal agency in 1985, is the nation's largest preservation institute and repository of federal as well as regional and local historical documents. NARA's website, Archives.gov, is convenient, artistically designed, and updated on a near-daily basis. Its resources are a growing enterprise, with hundreds of thousands of archival images of historical documents, figures, and events.
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Digital collections including hundreds of primary source documents.
The Gilder Lehrman Institute
Founded in 1994, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History promotes the study and love of American history. The Institute maintains this website to serve as a portal for American history on the Web; to offer high-quality educational material for teachers, students, historians, and the public; and to provide up-to-date information about the Institute's programs and activities.
The History Net.com
The HistoryNet.com is a commercial production of the Weider History Group, which publishes history magazines. Their ten leading magazines provide the HistoryNet.com with a steady flow of high-quality editorial content and the authoritative input of editors who are among the leaders in their respective fields.
H-Net Online
H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web. Our edited lists and web sites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public.
In the First Person
A landmark English language index that includes personal narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories for over 300,000 individuals. Provides a starting point for archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals histories that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives worldwide. Updated quarterly.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
This portal site links to thousands of documents dealing with modern Western history, organized by subject. Categories include: historiography, the early modern world (reformation, everyday life, colonial history), the transformation of the west (scientific, political, and industrial revolution), 19th century and Western hegemony, world wars and the end of Western dominance, and the world since 1945.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
This portal site links to thousands of documents dealing with the origins of humans, ancient Near Eastern civilizations, Greek civilizations, and Roman civilization.
Internet Archive Ebooks & Texts
The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 2.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account. More info
Internet Medieval History Sourcebook
This portal site links to thousands of documents dealing with medieval history. The site links you to full text sources, selected sources, and documents dealing with the saints' lives.
