LibGuides: Social Work: Find Sources

Find Sources

Written by scholars or experts in the field. Scholarly articles, also called academic articles, can be found using databases and cover a wide range of topics and can either be original research or analysis of an issue or topic.

Features of Scholarly Sources

Usually take the form of books or journal articles.
Often peer-reviewed.
Generally, present in-depth analysis or summaries of a topic.

Finding Scholarly Sources:

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive sociology research database contains full text for hundreds of journals dating back to 1908 and includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs as well as thousands of conference papers. Topics covered encompass such disciplines as abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others..
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Main resource for locating journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers covering criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines. Covers 1968-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of psychology as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Some linked full-text is available.

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders. It provides a common language for clinicians to communicate about their patients and establishes consistent and reliable diagnoses that can be used in the research of mental disorders. It also provides a common language for researchers to study the criteria for potential future revisions and to aid in the development of medications and other interventions.

DSM Library including DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
The DSM Library includes full text access to the DSM-5, Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders (5th edition), DSM-5 Handbook Of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and Guía De Consulta De Los Criterios Diagnósticos Del DSM-5.

This video is a brief introduction to the scholarly and popular sources you will come across while researching. What are they and how do you know what to use for your assignment?

You can search the library website for books and other materials and request them for pick up at the library. UIS Library is also a member of I-Share, which means our students can access materials available at other Illinois colleges and universities. Watch this short video to learn more about how to search and request materials.

Library Website
From the library homepage you can search the library catalog for books.
How long can I check out items?
See the loan periods for various items depending on your status.

Resources for Background Research

Social Work Entries from SAGE Knowledge
This link will take you directly to a topic page where you can choose social work topics from a collection of encyclopedias and handbooks.
Social Work Topic Page from Credo Reference
This topic page from Credo Reference will lead you to sub topics within the field of Social Work, and suggest sources such as encyclopedias and handbooks that are excellent for learning more about a topic and conducting background research.

eBooks in Social Work from Brookens

Social Work eBooks from EBSCO eBook Collection
This collection of Social Work eBooks provides full-text and offers the ability to search within the book. These ebooks can be viewed on a desktop.
Social Work eBooks from CARLI eBook Collection
This collection of Social Work eBooks provides full-text and offers the ability to search the text. This collection is available to view on your desktop. Requires you to log in with your user name and password.
Social Work eBooks from Springer
This collection of Social Work eBooks provides full-text and offers the ability to search within the book. These ebooks can be downloaded to Apple devices into iBooks or Android devices into Google Play Library.

More Databases

A-Z Databases
Complete list of available databases.