Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives/IRAD

Archives, Special Collections, & IRAD Information

About the Archives

Archives/Special Collections contributes to the public service and teaching functions of the University of Illinois at Springfield by supporting and promoting the research use of primary source materials. Its goal is to locate, acquire, preserve, and make available for research the most significant historical records of Sangamon State University (1969-1995) and the University of Illinois at Springfield, as well as regional history records and manuscripts whose research strengths support the University's educational mission.

When Brookens Library was completed in 1976, Archives/Special Collections opened as a department of the new library. Also that year, the SSU Archives became a member of the Illinois Regional Archives Depository system (IRAD), administered by the Illinois Secretary of State/Illinois State Archives. When the SSU Oral History Office closed in 1991, the Archives also became home for that office's significant oral history collection. Since the 1990s, UIS Archives/Special Collections has developed a growing online collection of digitized resources.

Archives/Special Collections' materials are open to the public unless restricted by law or contractual agreement with a donor. No material circulates and must be used in the Archives reading room. Photocopying and scanning services and microform reader/printers are available. Videotapes may be viewed in the Educational Technology Media Lab (LIB 140).

FAQ